Switzerland, St. Gallen

University of St. Gallen


Visit website

The University of St. Gallen is a research university located in St. Gallen, Switzerland.

Established in 1898, it is specialized in the fields of business administration, economics, law, and international affairs. The University of St. Gallen is also known as HSG, which is an abbreviation of its former German name Handels-Hochschule St. Gallen.In Fall 2012, the University of St. Gallen had 7,325 students, of which 2,711 were Master’s students and 728 were Ph.D. students.

The Country

Switzerland officially the Swiss Confederation, is a federal parliamentary republic consisting of
26 cantons, with Bern as the seat of the federal authorities, the so-called Bundesstadt aka “federal city”. The country is situated in Western and Central Europe, where it is bordered by Italy to the south, France to the west, Germany to the north, and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east. Switzerland is a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, spanning an area of 41,285 km2 (15,940 sq mi). While the Alps
occupy the greater part of the territory, the Swiss population of approximately 8 million people is concentrated mostly on the Plateau, where the largest cities are to be. Among them are the two global cities and economic centres of Zürich and Geneva.

The City

St.Gallen is the capital of the canton of St. Gallen in Switzerland. It evolved from the hermitage of Saint Gall, founded in the 7th century. Today, it is a large urban agglomeration and represents the center of eastern Switzerland. The town mainly relies on the service sector for its economic base. The main tourist attraction is the Abbey of St. Gall, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Its renowned library contains books, which date back to the 9th century. The city has good transport links to the rest of the country and to neighboring Germany and Austria. It also functions as the gate to the Appenzell Alps.

Student life

The University of St.Gallen hosts 25% international students, an upper limit which has been fixed by the government. There are about 80 clubs at the University of St. Gallen. AIESEC St. Gallen is a club that was founded in 1951 and that provides an international internship program. One of the largest clubs with more than 600 members is DocNet, the doctoral students’ club at the University of St. Gallen. Founded in 2001, a major event of DocNet is the annual DocNet Management Symposium. Other clubs are mostly sports clubs, cultural clubs, or associations of students of different countries or cantons, subject specific clubs related to specializations at the University of St. Gallen as well as fraternities.


Course participants and instructors can choose from 54 stylish single rooms in our HSG Alumni House. The HSG Alumni House is situated next to the seminar buildings in the Convention and Executive Education Center in the middle of the leafy, green Rotmonten quarter. The University is ten minutes’ walk away. Towards the south there is a wonderful view of the town of St.Gallen with Säntis behind, the highest mountain in the Alpstein range close by. The HSG Alumni House offers impressive modern architecture and everything you could wish for after a tiring day’s work. The attractive landscape around the Center invites you to do some sport or relax. This unusual building was funded by generous donations from our alumnae and alumni. It was opened in May 2008.

Travel Opportunities

There are 28 sites in St. Gallen that are listed as Swiss heritage sites of national significance, including four religious buildings; the Abbey of St. Gallen, the former Dominican Abbey of St.
Katharina, the Reformed Church of St. Laurenzenkirche and the Roman Catholic parish church of St. Maria Neudorf. There are six museums or archives in the inventory. This includes the Textile museum, the Historical and ethnographical museum, the Cantonal library and city archives, the Art and Natural History museum, the Museum in Lagerhaus and the Cantonal archives. The entire city of St. Gallen is the only archeological heritage site. Two bridges are
listed, the Eisenbahnbrücke BT (railroad bridge) and the KräzernStrassenbrücke with a custom house. The twelve other sites include the main train station, main post office, University of St.
Gallen, Cantonal School, City Theatre and two towers; the Lokremise with Wasserturm and the Tröckneturm.