In 19 years, ZSEM won the award 11 times.

Ivan Tomaš, a 4th year student of business mathematics and economics, was awarded this year's Hanžeković Award in the student category.
He received the award for his work "A stochastic forecast for the Croatian pension system". The work will be done in the next issue of the scientific journal Public Sector Economics.
The "Prof. Dr. Marijan Hanžeković" Foundation was founded in memory of Prof. Dr. Marijan Hanžeković. The founders of the Foundation are the Institute of Public Finance, Marijan Hanzekovic (junior), the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Croatia, the Croatian National Bank, Privredna banka, Zagrebacka banka and the Croatian Postal Bank. In addition to nurturing the memory of prof. The aim of the Foundation is to promote financial science and to encourage scientists and experts, especially young people, to pursue this scientific discipline. This award is also the most prestigious award 
given to young economists in Croatia.
The award has been awarded since 2000. Thus, former and current ZSEM professors, alumni and students have won this award as many as 11 times: Ivo Krznar (2002,2008), Mladen Fruk (2003,2004), Maruška Vizek (2006), Josip Funda (2007), Ivan Žilić (2010), Miljana Valdec (2014), Jurica Zrnc (2014), Vuk Vukovic (2017) and Ivan Tomas (2019).